top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMariana Hernández

Cycle 1

Updated: Nov 18, 2023

Week 1- B&W Collection

Mental Map and classwork:



For this assignment I chose to tell Paddington story with objects that are related to him and represent him.

Inspo:

Final photo:

Mind the Gap Paddington!

Reflection:

I decided to focus my object collection in Paddington. I wanted to do something different and fun, but that it also had to do something with me. I love Paddigton and since last year that I came to London I bought it and I've taken him to Florence and now to London to live with me. He is my little companion and when I thought of an object I knew that he would be the perfect fit of the assignment. As you can see the collection of pictures is a little story of how Paddington arrived to London.


 

Week 2- Introduction to drawing


Reflection:

I loved this task because it made me realize how much I need to observe an object before I draw it. It also helped to start from the shapes and then add detailing, it makes it so much easier and I wasn't used to it, but it turned out great.


 




Week 3- Proportion and perspective

Proportion:

Perspective:



Reflection:

During this week I had a hard time doing the perspective drawings but I kept practicing and I started to understand how to do it. As well as the proportion, at first it was hard to manage to calculate the object's proportion but then i did some practice, and ended up drawing my lipgloss. I am really proud of what I draw this week and what i learned.

 

Week 4 - Negative space and shading techniques




Shading with pencil:

Reflection: During this weeks assignment I learned how to use shadow properly and the different ways of shading, also learned to draw negative spaces, which helped me be more conscious of what I'm drawing and manage space and sizes.

 

Week 5- Creative Drawing

Shading with color:


Sorelina Dress

Research of Contemporary and Experimental Drawing:


Contemporary drawing consists of the artistic practice of drawing from roughly 1960/1970 to today, predominantly working on a paper surface using dry media such as graphite, pencil, charcoal, chalk, or wet media such as ink, bister, sepia, markers, pastel or watercolor (CAI Magazine,2022).

Experimental Drawing explores the boundaries of traditional approaches in drawing media. The course is designed to ask questions about what a drawing is, explore the conventions of drawing, and experiment with unfamiliar/unexpected materials, methods, theories and presentations in the medium of drawing. This course will also explore the full range of ideas that are currently in use and stretch the known limits of what is considered a drawing. We will explore the aesthetic merit of each of these and how they might relate to your particular vision (Janowich and Cavanagh, 2018).



Contemporary Art examples, Via Pinterest.

Reflection:

During this last weeks cycle I incorporated all that I learned in this five weeks into my final drawings. It's nice to have the knowledge of how to draw but I believe it is also important to keep drawing and practice to be able to see results. I feel that every day I'm getting better.

References:

Pinterest. (2016). Pinterest. [online] Available at: https://www.pinterest.com.mx/search/pins/?rs=ac&len=2&q=experimental%20drawing&eq=experimental%20dra&etslf=10218 [Accessed 23 Oct. 2023].

https://www.facebook.com/delagrangejulien (2022). Top 12 Contemporary Drawing Artists You Need To Know — CAI. [online] Contemporary Art Issue - Platform, Publisher & Gallery on Contemporary Art. Available at: https://www.contemporaryartissue.com/top-12-contemporary-drawing-artists-you-need-to-know/#:~:text=Contemporary%20drawing%20consists%20of%20the,%2C%20markers%2C%20pastel%20or%20watercolor. [Accessed 23 Oct. 2023].

Janowich, J.R. and Cavanagh, J.F. (2018). Delay knowledge and trial set count modulate use of proactive versus reactive control: A meta-analytic review. Psychonomic Bulletin & Review, 25(4), pp.1249–1268. doi:https://doi.org/10.3758/s13423-018-1502-1.

 

Life and Career Week

‌Sketching the whole week



This assignment for me was difficult because I don't sketch a lot and I didn't know what to draw, but every day was easier and I really ended up liking it.







59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page