top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMariana Hernández

Cycle 2

Updated: Dec 5, 2023

Week 6: Introduction to portrait drawing


This weeks assignment was challenging for me. I've never draw a portrait before so to get the proportions right was really difficult.

 

WEEK 7: Portrait brief


I decided to draw Marilyn Monroe because for me it is one of the most iconic woman over the last 80 decades. I think that she made an impact in the cinematic industry and also how talented she was and how she wanted to do more than acting.

Marilyn Monroe, named Norma Jeane Mortensen at birth on June 1, 1926, was a legendary American actress, singer, and model who became one of the most popular sex symbols of the 1950s. Her career was marked by numerous successful films, and she became a cultural icon, remembered for her beauty, charm and tragic personal life.

In 1955, Monroe established her own film production company called Marilyn Monroe Productions. The company was a partnership between Monroe and photographer Milton Greene, whom she met in the early 1950s. Marilyn wanted more control over her career and the ability to choose her film roles so that´s why she decided to start her own production. This was huge in the times because she was the first woman to create their own production company. Lots of people just saw her for her looks but she was more than just looks, she was really smart and such a powerful woman. She changed the film industry.


This task has been so challeging for me, I am actually not happy with the results and I feel that I can do it, I just have to have the time to re-do it and keep practicing, hope that in the holidays I can do it and put the new drawing here. I've been re doing this portrait for the last three weeks, but I am never happy with the results, I need to improve my proportion measurement and also keep seeing the image and stop drawing from memory.


 

WEEK 8: Generation of ideas

Inspo:


I want to make something like comic art/pop art because I feel that it's perfect for Marilyn.

In the poster I want to tell a bit of Marilyn´s story, hiw she was depressed, had lots of addiction, her production, acting, her daddy issues and how she was sexualized by the media.

I am using pop colors for the poster as Andy Warhol, I also want to do someting similar to his art to conmenorate him.




 

WEEK 9: Development and refinement

During this week I concentrated in the portrait of Marilyn and finding the paper for the background. At the end I used 5 pages of A3 and put them together to make the poster background.

For Marilyns I used one of her pictures as reference and then I just focused on making it as a cartoon or comic. It was so much easier for me to do this drawing that the actual portrait. I decided to use pink because is my favorite color and also because I think that will look perfect in the center of the poster.



 

WEEK 10: Final Designs and Evaluation

Final Poster:




I loved how my poster turned out. I feel like it represents Marilyn's life and gives you a bit of context of her life. I chose to add things that I found most important and try to also use some stuff that could give it some texture. I put some Tylenol pills representing her addicition to drugs and made a cigar with paper. I also decided to put the Hollywood sign with staples, to give it more of a pop up. I chose as well to use one of Marilyn's phrases about her and her real name and try to incorporate a bit of her actual self.

Designing the poster and getting to do it was so fun. I learned a lot about her while investigating and also finding inspiration for her poster. I love how it represent a bit of pop art and also the comic art and how I used lots of colors and typography.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page