top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMariana Hernández

Cycle 2

Updated: Apr 4

WEEK 6: Wearable Sculpture


Also called Wearable Art—emerged in the United States in the late 1960s and flourished during the following decades, created by a generation of mixed-media artists who pioneered a new art form designed around the body (Philamuseum.org, 2013). It explores unconventional materials, methods, and ideas to create adventurous, imaginative work. Rooted in the visual arts, fiber arts, crafts, performance and fashion, Art to Wear expresses each artist's personal vision and connects to the cultural, historical and social issues of their time.

References

Tate (2016). Wearable sculpture | Tate Modern. [online] Tate. Available at: https://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/drop-studio-experiment-textiles-and-objects/wearable-sculpture [Accessed 14 Feb. 2024].

Creative Process

I decided that I wanted to do a corset, but I wanted to use reused materials that were easy to get and that was also easy to work with, that why I ended up using newspaper. I wanted to do more with my corset, but I didn't had a lot of time to focus on details so I concentrated on the main piece.






My Wearable sculpture represents something trendy, because it is a corset. Lately, what woman wear for a night out or for something casual/formal is a corset, so i wanted to design one that you could use for every event and every season, something atemporal. The newspaper represents all of the media and information that we have as a form of expression, I see it as a way of expressing ourselves. Now we have the opportunity to write about our opinions and share them thru social media, so I see this corset as wearing the opinions and news and expressing them out. I specifically chose parts of the newspaper that were interesting topics for me so that it had a meaning.

Reflection:

Doing this corset was so fun for me because I got to be a designer and work as if it was real. It took more time than I expected but I loved the final piece. I decided to call it Cornelia because that's a name of a street in New York. The final photo, I decided to put New York behind because the corset gives me the vibes of being in New York and I think it combines and looks perfect with it.

WEEK 7: Intro to Adobe Creative Cloud



Poster:

Reflection:

For me at first was really hard using photoshop, this tasks were easy but i don't think I could do beyond that. The app is a bit complicate to use and has a lot of tools. You have to have time when you are using it to watch the videos and learn what every tool is used for, but I still don't manage to get it. I hope that I can keep practicing on my skills and be able to use the app appropriate.

WEEK 8: Colour Theory/Painting

A strong understanding of color theory is crucial if you're pursuing a liberal arts degree and studying fine arts or design. The art of blending colors using the color wheel—an ordered representation of the primary, secondary, and tertiary colors—is known as color theory. For designers, artists, marketers, and brand owners, knowing how colors relate to each other, blending colors accurately, and utilizing the color wheel are essential abilities.





Reflection:

During this week we learned about colors, how you can combine them, how you can make secondary and tertiary colors and how you can shade. I had so much fun doing the assignments but it was a bit hard for me doing the shading on the tomato. i'm not good at painting so it took a lot of time for me to do it and be able to start mixing colors so the shade could take place. I feel that knowing color theory is so important because we have to be able to understand how the color mixing works and what combines with what. Everything makes a reaction and impression in our brains, so knowing what every color means and makes us feel, so it's important to know what we want to express.

WEEK 9: Monoprint

A monoprint is a form of printmaking in which an image is made from a smooth surface or ‘plate’ coated in printing ink such as a sheet of glass or metal. In contrast with other printing techniques, only one final image is made, making the technique closer to drawing or painting than other print processes. The term ‘monoprint’ and ‘monotype’ are often used interchangeably to reference the same process, although some prefer to use the term ‘monoprint’ to refer to a series of similar works, while a ‘monotype’ is a one-off (Nationalgalleries.org, 2023).

References:

Reflection:

During this week we learned about monoprint, a versatile printmaking technique, that offers a unique blend of spontaneity and control. Its singular nature allows for immediate expression and experimentation. As ink is applied to a smooth surface, each print captures a momentary snapshot, bearing the artist's gestures and decisions. The unpredictability inherent in monoprinting often leads to serendipitous outcomes, fostering a dynamic interplay between intention and chance. I think this process invites artists to embrace imperfections and celebrate the beauty of impermanence. Through monoprinting, artists can explore themes of transience, individuality, and the fleeting nature of artistic creation, it was so fun to be creative and be able to do this.

WEEK 10: Project Proposal


Reflection:

Doing the project proposal got me really inspired and excited. I can´t wait to be able to do the project and start on it. It was a bit hard at first getting all my ideas into place and managing what was the purpose of the project and what I wanted to do, but as soon as I got everything organized, it started making sense. I really hope I can manage my time and schedule so I can be able to do all the magazine and everything that involves to it. I hope I can get the materials for my cover and that at the end is a good project and its well done.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page