top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMariana Hernández

Cycle 1

Updated: Apr 4

Week 1- Self Portrait


Research Through self portraits, we explore the curios custom of representing one's self through visual art. We must be honest and vulnerable to make a great self - portrait. -FRIDA KAHLO: Played with media, and added symbolic objects that resonate with her culture or personal history. -REMBRANDT: He portraits his physical likeness aD well as an immense sense of spirit. We see the artist age and change over time, and he uses his own face to express humor, melancholy, pride and deterioration of age.

  • What do you want to show, express?


Collage


Final Result:



Reflection:

My portrait represents my biggest dream, which is to work at Vogue. I decided to make it part of my portrait because it is one of my goals in this life. I also wanted to put a background drawing of a landscape with train tracks, because for me it is a representation of our path throughout life and what has not become the version that we are at this moment. My portrait represents the future and that right now I am taking that path to reach my goal.


 

Week 2- Tate Modern


References: Tate (2022). ‘Valentine‘, Evelyne Axell, 1966 | Tate. [online] Tate. Available at: https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/axell-valentine-t14349 [Accessed 28 Sep. 2023].


 

Week 3- Mini briefs

Negative structure:

Reflection:

I decided to do a dress for negative spaces because it is fashion related and I am interested in that. I had to do a clay mannequin and the glued the sticks and put them into the shape I wanted. The first picture is the inspiration that I found so I could the dress. I also put some pictures of the process and the final piece.

Typography:



Reflection: For me it wasn't that easy to find all the letters, it took me a lot of time, but I think once you realize that it's the alphabet it makes it easier to understand the shapes of the objects and which letters they are. All my typography are objects from the street that i found while walking in Covent Garden and St. James Park.


 

Week 4- Mini briefs: Photography

Size and scale:

Gr8

Reflection: I think this task was really fun because I got to play with different objects and and them in the pictures and replace them for another objects. I learned to manage the objects size into the picture and replace the with the actual object and also to be able to have all the elements focused in the picture.

A story:

Bombai

Reflection: This weekend I went to the Saatchi Gallery and I decided to take pictures of the people there while they were admiring the art work. I found it really cool because all the people´s reflection's are different and they seem so interested.


 

Week 5- Zine



For this week I decided to do a little zine about the autumn colors and essentials for fashion. I did the color palette for autumn and also put some outfits inspiration wit a nice background. I took al of the images out of a fashion magazine and tried to draw the backgrounds. The name of the article is actually a Taylor Swift song from her Evermore album, which I feel is the exact vibe for autumn.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page